Slanica Island of Art - Permanent expositionsPermanent exhibitions of traditional folk art from the Orava Gallery’s collections are located in the beautiful natural scenery of Slanica Island, in the middle of the Orava dam. An exhibition “Slovak Traditional Folk Sculptures and Paintings” is installed in the interior of a Church. Part of the exhibitions is also a lapidary “Orava Stone Sculptures” placed in the exterior of the island and a history of flooded villages situated in the former tomb. Access to the Island is with an Orava Galleries ship “OG-SLANICA” from port No.2 in Slanická Osada.
from 13th of May to 17th of September 2017
- First cruise at 9.00 am
- Expected cruises according to interest of visitors: at 9.00am 11.00am 1.00pm 3.00pm (change reserved by OG)
- Minimal number of person per one cruise is 10 paying adults
- One return cruise including visit of exhibitions lasts about 90 minutes
- Number of seats: 80
- including boat trip: children € 2,00, students, seniors, disabled people, war veterans € 3,00, adults € 5,00
- exhibition only: children, students, seniors, disabled people, war veterans € 0,50, adults € 1,00
Slanica Island of Arts, Oravská priehrada, Námestovo
Tel.: PORT +421 905 915 108
THE ESTABLISHMENT OF SLANICA ISLAND OF ART AND ORAVA GALLERIES EXHIBITIONS
Slovak Traditional Folk Sculptures and Paintings and Orava Stone Sculptures
In 1953 the water of Orava dam surrounded the formerly dominating village of Slanica – located on an elevation with a Church and Calvary – and created an island 609 m above sea level in the middle of the dam. Since 1971, permanent exhibitions of Slovak Traditional Folk Sculptures and Glass-paintings from the Orava Gallery´s collections have been placed there in the baroque-classical church with a Calvary complex and the impressive natural scenery surrounding it all part the genuine and unique environment of the newly created Slanica Island of Art. The importance and scope of this exhibition reaches beyond the borders of the region. In 1972, a historic exhibition documenting the building of the Orava dam and a history of the flooded villages was opened in the former tomb. In the lapidary of church exterior, an exhibition of Orava Stone Sculptures has been situated, since 1973. A memorial to Anton Bernolak (3.10.1763 Slanica – 15.1.1813 Nové Zámky), the first codifier of the Slovak language, initially placed in the flooded village of Slanica, was displaced to in front of the Church. The bronze sculpture was created in the second half of the 1930´s by the Czech sculptor František Machala. The beauty of the island, with the amazing acoustic of the exhibition space and the exhibition of folk sculptures provided for an unique atmosphere for the first opening concert of the Orava Music Summer in 1976. The idea for the establishment of the Orava Gallery is connected with the preparation of an exhibition of Traditional Folk Art on Slanica Island of Art. However, establishing a gallery in this region at the time was a long-term process accompanied by complicated negotiations. In the early 1960´s , the preparatory committee for the establishment of the Orava Gallery with its president Ctibor Belan and members Jozef Mlynarčík, Mária Medvecká, Běla Kolčáková, Ignác Kočák and Pavol Sika set to work, and has since 3rd of September 1965 with effect from 3rd of November 1965 established Orava Gallery based in Oravský Podzámok. In 1971, the gallery moved to a former County House in Dolný Kubín, which is still in use as the gallery’s administration and exhibition centre till now. In the same year the Gallery prepared an opening ceremony for the island and exhibitions and to this day there is nothing similar in Slovakia.